SDLC And STLC: What’s The Difference?

In software testing, SDLC and STLC two main life cycle for software development. So in this article, you will see the definition and difference between the Software Development Life Cycle and Software Testing Life Cycle.

SDLC:  SDLC stands for software development life cycle. It is a step by step process to develop a software.

STLC:  STLC stands for software testing life cycle. STLC is maintains the quality of the software product and make software product defect free.

Difference between SDLC and STLC

SDLC is mainly focus on the software development process.STLC is mainly focus on the on the software testing process.
In SDLC has main six phases.
1.Requirements and Analysis
In STLC has main six phases.
1. Test Planning
2.Test Case Designing
3.Test environment Setup
4.Test Execution Test closure
Software development team works on the requirements, designing and coding phase.Software test engineers works on the preparing documents like Test Plans, Test cases designing, Prepares Test data.
In SDLC, numbers of resources are more requires compare to STLC.In STLC, less numbers of the resources are requires.
Focus on develop good quality software product.Focus on defect free software products.
SDLC has done before the STLC phases.STLC has done after the SDLC phases.
Main Goal of SDLC is that make software development process successful.Main Goal of STLC is that make software testing process successful.


So in this way, SDLC vs STLC both are important phases of the software testing. If you are looking for more example then please visit below links.

1. Static Testing And Dynamic Testing

2. Smoke Testing And Sanity Testing

3. Black Box Testing And White Box Testing

4. Test Cases And Test Scenarios

5. Functional And Non Functional Testing

6. Severity And Priority

7. Retesting and Regression Testing

Scroll to Top