SDLC Models

SDLC Models – Types & Full Guide

What Is SDLC Models?

SDLC models have different types of models to develop software is known as Software Development Life Cycle models.

SDLC(software development life cycle) models in software engineering are collection various activities to develop software products. As SDLC models start from analyzing the needs of a software product in a software process model, to Designing, Coding,  Testing, and the installation (the process of installing the software in its actual environment) all divide into different well-defined steps, which makes the task of software creation very easy.

The team works together on a big software project which includes many people with different abilities and expertise. In software projects, system analysts, software engineers, and software test engineers work. The software development life cycle models divide the work of all the people involved in the project into different stages so that all the development and testing teams involved in the project know which person has to start his work when.

The selection of the sdlc models are the most important thing to develop any project and it has a major impact on testing. Based on the SDLC model in software testing, it has also provided scope and time for the testing. 

Types Of SDLC Models

There are several Types Of SDLC Models which are shown as below:

  1. Waterfall Model
  2. Agile Model
  3. V Model
  4. Incremental Model
  5. Spiral Model
  6. Prototype Model
  7. Iterative Model
  8. RAD Model

Waterfall Model

SDLC uses a variety of sdlc models to develop software so the Waterfall model considered to be a very important model of SDLC. Waterfall model also called as linear sequential model.

If we want to develop software using the waterfall model, we cannot do it in the next phase of software development until the first phase completed therefore called the Linear Sequential model

Agile Model  

The agile model is a combination of the incremental and iterative models so It’s a rapidly incremental cycle that released on production. Due to the continuous delivery process method in this model, most of the organizations are preferred this model.

V Model

The V model also called the verification and validation model. It is an SDLC model which executes in a sequence in a v shape so its called the V model. In V model, each development phase associated with the testing phase and it will plan parallel to development and testing. So it also called highly-disciplined model.

Prototype Model

The prototype model mainly used when requirements not cleared so It is an activity in which prototypes of software applications created. First the prototype created for a software product then the final product created. This sdlc model mostly used in waterfall model.

Spiral Model

The spiral model can be reused for the existing software in the early phase of development so its allows the qualities throughout the development phase. However It removes the errors and unnecessary features in the early stages.

Incremental Model

Software Engineering is a way of developing incremental model software, where software development cycles such as design, implementation, testing divided into several small steps.

Iterative Model 

In Iterative Model (Iterative Model) or Iterative Enhancement Model (Iterative Enhancement Model) a large software development work broken down into smaller phases.

RAD Model

In SDLC models, RAD stands for Rapid Application Development. RAD model is one kind of combination of the prototype model and iterative model. 


A software is developed using many different techniques and methods, it requires a variety of tools, models, and other external elements. SDLC models is a development technique that goes with the requirements of the project so sometimes this techniques proves to be very useful.

Learn More: SDLC Phases , what is SDLC

Scroll to Top