SDLC phases

What Are 6 Phases Of SDLC? Overview With Example

SDLC phases used to develop any new software or application by step by step procedure. It is used to develop the software systematically so SDLC process helps to maintain the quality of the software products.

SDLC Process

SDLC process has many stages to develop a high quality software product. In IT industry when customer need a quality based product then IT people has to follow SDLC process. SDLC process steps are designing, development, testing and deployment.

SDLC Phases

Software Development Life Cycle has six-phases

  1. Requirements gathering and Analysis
  2. Design
  3. Coding
  4. Testing
  5. Deployment
  6. Maintenance

Software Development Life Cycle Process Flow

SDLC Phases

1.Requirements gathering and Analysis

Firstly, a Product Analyst (Product-based Companies) or Business Analyst ( Service-based Companies) will go to the client’s place and collect all requirements in business language. After getting all the required information from the customer then BA will cover all requirements in technical language and share it with the team.

In this stage, Even though information collects from the customers or clients If some information are missing then we have to collect the required information from clients. So, Business Analysts involves in this phase and finished this sdlc phase. Business Analysts is also associated with this SDLC phase.

The documents prepare during this SDLC phase. For example, BRS(Business Requirements Specification), CRS(Customer Requirements Specification and SRS(Software Requirements Specification).

Roles:  Developers, QA team, BA, Architects, Project Managers

2. Design

In this process, the actual flow of the project starts with the designing phase. First, the development team decides to logical functionality ER Diagram, Data Flow Diagram, etc. Based on the project so mostly team leaders, technical experts execute these kinds of exercises. They also involve in HLD and LLD, documents.

HLD: Design the architecture of the application.

LLD: How each and every module looks like low-level design(LLD)

Roles: Architecture & Team 

3. Coding

According to the design document, Development Team works on the coding phase and starts small modules. However, the actual coding starts in this phase, it takes time to develop a software product as per the customer’s requirements. This stage finish by the development team. However this is the longest phase of the SDLC.

Roles: Developers and Architects

4. Testing

In the SDLC testing phase, the Testing team works on the test plan. According to Test Plan, the test engineer team follow the test plan and design the test cases, test scripts, test reports. After designing test cases, the testing team executes the test cases. The team finds the bugs, errors, missing requirements while executing test cases. However, the testing team reports it to the development team and maintain the defect life cycle. It also has a process of ensuring the application works as per requirements specification or not.

Roles: Testing Team, Developers

5. Deployment

After completing the development and testing phase, the software will be ready for release on production. This is done carefully by avoiding problems. After installing software at the client’s place, It will be ready for use.

Roles: Testers, Developers, Customer, Business team, Architects, Project Manager, and Delivery Manager

6. Maintenance

The process of SDLC does not stop after completely installing software or applications at the customer’s place. Due to some defects or add new functionalities or change the requirements, this software development cycle will reapply again.

SDLC Example

Project : Online School management system App

Project scope definition: The client need to develop a online school management system app that will allow teachers, students and parents to manage their own work on any device.

Planning: the development team offers to work on any development tool and analyse the costs of it. It also measure the productivity time. If any additional feature are proposed by the client then it is necessary to get an approval from the client.

Development: During the development phase, development team will start to work on it as per the client requirements. The UI team start work on the front end to make it more user friendly application.

Testing: the test engineers will test the applications automated and manual to guarantee that the application works as expected and meet the client’s requirements.

Delivery and Deployment: If client accepts the product without any comments then it will be deployed on production after testing.

Maintenance: So whenever users faced any bugs or customer requests to add new feature then the development team will work on it.


The software development life cycle (SDLC) process is typically used in most organizations to get the quality-based product or provide quality-based service to customers.

Learn More: Manual Testing

What is SDLC

Scroll to Top